What kind of exercise should you really be doing?

I go to the gym and 9 times out of 10 all the women are on the cardio equipment.  And I ask myself, why?

I am not in any way demonizing cardiovascular exercise.  I get on a bike or treadmill every time I go into the gym.  It’s great for the health of your heart and vasculature, among many other things.  What I want to know is where are all the women lifting weights?

Many of us in the gym are trying to lose weight or tone up.  The best way to do that is to lift weights!  What we need to think about in the gym is testosterone, a very important fat burning hormone.  In order to convert your body in to fat burning mode, testosterone needs to be increased.  As it is, women do not have very much testosterone, on average about 40-50mg/dL (men average between 200-1000mg/dL).  So don’t worry, it is nearly impossible to beef up in the gym from lifting weights.  We just don’t produce enough testosterone to do that.  (If you’re thinking about the female body builders out there, don’t bother.  Most likely, they’re taking supplemental testosterone, which is known to many as ‘steroids’.)

I know many of you are somewhat reserved when it comes to start lifting weights.  I want to put the bug out there.  Lifting weights will actually help you burn fat and lose that last bit of weight!  And don’t worry, muscles are sexy!

For a full detailed hormonally correct eating and exercise plan, check out my ebook Abs After 30.

My love,

Dr. Kristin

Leave a Reply

